Graphic Design on Tik Tok

As a student currently studying a Bachelor of Communication and Media with a major in Visual Communication Design, I am constantly surrounded by design and having to challenge my design skills. And so, for my media niche I have chosen to indulge myself into tiktok, more specifically graphic design on tiktok.

As a user already on tik-tok, my for you page is usually filled with content relating to graphic design. Videos such as quick tutorials and how-tos, reviewing portfolio and designs, tips and tricks etc. I would constantly interact with videos such as those with liking and saving them for future use. Of course, I never go out of my way to try them out.

So with this media niche, I hope to simultaneously develop my skills in design and learn new things in ethnography. As participating in communities allows insight and apply our findings in creating solutions and completely utilise our design skills. Upon researching the connection between design and ethnography, I found this cool quote that I found to apply in participant observation and inspire my research.

“but which gives you the ability to see things from their perspective. Additionally, you will be able to understand why users do the things they do, but for this to happen you have to make a shift in your mindset.” (Farkas, 2020)

Field Site Map

Timeline to help keep myself accountable!

DA is soon underway! Keep an eye out for it!

References:

2 Comments

  1. Hi Ruth 🙂 What a great pitch! I’ll keep an eye out for your page on my TikTok and give you a follow. You’ve included a good variety of necessary and structural content from the weekly readings and it’s evident you’ve clearly understood the criteria for the pitch. Great use of explaining your media niche but could’ve added examples of content creators you will be following on TikTok and maybe even examples of some of the content they create. Another thing that could’ve been a nice touch to add in the blog post (I know it’s hard with the world count) is mentioning the type of framework this would be considered. I believe this could be considered an inclusive framework as you mentioned you will be incorporating tutorials from ALL content creators. Another thing is the mention of a few more sources to provide further research and depth to your pitch. I’m really excited to see the content you produce and to see your research at the end!

    Like

Leave a comment